With a view to meet the demand of trained teachers and to facilitate the higher training to the fresh graduate, working graduate and post graduate teachers and also spreading light to higher education to the doors of the locality of greater Boko, a heartland of conglomerated culture of drivers tribes and ethnic groups, a public meeting was call with some intellectuals, educationist and conscious people of the greater area on 31-05-1998 at the BOKO HIGH SCHOOL premises. In that meeting a unanimous resolution was taken to set up a B. Ed. College at BOKO and accordingly a sponsoring body was formed to run the college with Sri Kati Ram Rabha (Freedom fighter) as the president and Dr. Ganeswar Saharia as the secretary. With bold step of the committee the college started its admission from the next academic session in 1999-2000, after getting the opening permission from the university of Guwahati on 13-10-1999. In the year 2004 the college got its NCTE recognition vide order no. ERC/7-51(ER-51.7.2)/2004/3584 with an intake capacity of 100 students. The college is also affiliated to Guwahati University vide its letter No. GU/Aff/2006/50 dated 08-04-2006.

Sri Kati Ram Rabha was the president of the sponsoring committee till 2002. After that Sri Jyoti Prasad Das, MLA of BOKO Constituency takes the charge of the president. Dr. Ganeswar Saharia is performing his duties as secretary till now. Prof. D.K. Barua (Rtd. Principal i/c J. N. College, Boko was the founder principal of the college and he was in that post till Dr. Nipen Sarma as qualified principal. On 13-08-2004 Mrs. Jamini Baishya took over the charge of the principal.

The result of the college has been very good from its inception and has already produced good number of successful candidates. Several of them secured First Class including First Class First Position in the year 2003-2004. The trainees who have come out successfully from the various teaching department in the different states like KERALA, HIMACHAL PRADESH, ANDAMON, UTTAR PRADESH, BIHAR, JHARKHAND and NORTH BENGAL.

Results over the years:

Session 2008-2009

1st Class : 09

Total Candidates - 129

Session 2009-2010

1st Class : 07

Total Candidates - 131

Session 2010-2011

1st Class : 08

Total Candidates - 136

Session 2011-2012

1st Class : 04

Total Candidates - 142

Session 2012-2013

1st Class : 10

Total Candidates - 136